Metal/Wire Weapons

• I have limited experience with printed miniatures but I'm given to understand they are very frail. Considerably more fragile than metal, plastic, or even resin miniatures.  The mini's weapons in particular seem vulnerable to gaming use.

Some have used wire/metal spears with their miniatures for years.  The advantages are obvious.  Actually straight unlike the spears on cast metal miniatures.  Far stronger and more survivable than plastic spears, etc.

Perhaps it would be possible for future STL releases to have alternate arms with "drilled" through hands suitable for use with metal/wire weapons.

Thoughts?

Some of Foundary's weapon packs:

(Really, does the above Polish lance have any chance of survival if it was printed?)

• Even hard plastic lances have a tendency to bend over time. 

White metal ones aren't that good either - they tend to bend immediately, although they are easier to straighten.

• @JTam I think that hands with holes idea is legit. Taking it a step further, for things like the big lances, you could print them with a recess for a metal core. They'd be fragile until they were put on their metal frame, but after that, they'd likely last a very long time, and be fairly robust. Not sure if printers could handle it now, but given time, I think they'll be more than capable of handling the task.

• @JTam @Battle Specter How about a hand cast on the weapon as in  other manufacturers then fix at wrist.

• @Geoff Maybury 

That doesn't really help the fact that printed weapons are supposedly super frail and break when you look at them.  

Otherwise, yes, I'm a big fan of the hand and weapon being one piece.  (Works very well provided the miniature has a decent size wrist/bracelet/sleeve).