The Trojan War / Iliad / Odyssey

The Iliad's Greatest Hero?

• What-plastic-ancients-miniatures-we-need?

How about a line of miniatures set during the Trojan War 12/13th century BC.

The Illiad is a transcendent work.

Who cannot be excited about this era / setting? 

The arms and armor are unique.  The boar tusk helmets, hoop armor, the figure eight shields all would make for striking miniatures. 

(I'm far from an expert on this period.  I'm excited to see the more knowledgeable weight in.)

• One set could represent the lightly armed skirmishers and bowmen.

Another set could represent rankers.

Yet another set could build heroes.

(Ajax)

(Agamemnon)

Need similar set(s) for the Trojans.

And yet another set for chariots.  How else can a champion get to and away from the fight?

• The afore mentioned hoop armor with boar tusk helmet:

A figure eight shield:

• A supporting rule set could be amazing.  

Maybe a little something like 4th edition Warhammer Fantasy Battles.  Rank and flank units clash, but heroes can have a massive effect.  There's still rank bonuses, flank charge bonuses, morale, etc.

Chariot rules enable heroes to deploy with speed where needed on the battlefield:

Rules for challenges can add interest and keep heroes from murdering your rankers.

Scenarios could range from massed battles outside Troy's gates, to beach landings, to raids on villages, to stealth missions to commit murder in the enemy's camp.

• Or maybe something like "Of Gods and Mortals"?

Not necessarily having the gods in the game.  But treating the top tier heroes (Diomedes, Hector, Achilles, etc.) as just short of.

(Like a Boss....)

Sidenote:  I would play the cr*p out of "Of Gods and Mortals" with WGA Trojan War miniatures.  Can't think of more perfect miniatures/setting.

• Or (and I prefer this) we can fully embrace the mythology.  (Or make add on/optional rules for adding mythology to the "historic" game.)